Minnesota Grocers Association Holds 25th Best Bagger Contest

The Minnesota Grocers Association held its 25th annual statewide Best Bagger Contest on Saturday, August 17, 2013 at the Mall of America.

The first place winner in the competition was Chelsea Retzer of Lunds – Normandale, Bloomington, winning $500 cash, a trophy and a trip to Las Vegas to represent Minnesota at the National Best Bagger Championship on February 11, 2014. Second place was awarded to Dylan Hiler of Chris’ Food Center, Sandstone, and third place was awarded to Mackenzie Morrissey of Kowalski’s Market, Eagan.

This contest is important to the MGA and its membership because it is a fun, fast-paced and entertaining competition, but most importantly, this event showcases the talents of one of the industry’s key employees. Baggers are the people responsible for the last experience customers have in a store, and the contest’s focus on these top baggers truly exemplifies the retail food industry’s dedication to customer service.

The fourteen participating contestants were judged on speed, style, attitude, proper bag building technique and weight distribution between the bags.  Contest attendees witnessed the art of “bagging” by some of Minnesota’s best. To showcase the retail food industry’s commitment to consumer choice and the well-being of the communities we serve, baggers used reusable bags.

Contestants ranged from 16 to 23 years of age and came from the following participating companies: Almsted’s Fresh Market, Crystal; Byerly’s, Eagan; Coborn’s, St. Joseph; Chris’ Food Center, Sandstone; Fareway Stores, Fairmont; Glen’s Food Center, Luverne; Jerry’s Foods, Edina; Jubilee Foods, Mound; Kowalski’s Market, Eagan; Lunds – Normandale, Bloomington; Mackenthun’s Fine Foods, Waconia; Wells Marketplace Foods, Wells; Willie’s Supervalu, Morris; and Zup’s, Ely.

Four of the fourteen baggers were also given Bagger Excellence Awards.  Mackenzie Morrissey of Kowalski’s Market, Eagan received the Balance Award; Josh Torgeson of Mackenthun’s Fine Foods, Waconia received the Spirit Award; Harry Robinow of Jerry’s Foods, Edina received the Style Award and Danielle Ravnikar of Zup’s, Ely received the Traveler Award.

The Minnesota Grocers Association is a state trade association representing the retail food industry since 1897.  We have over 200 retail members with nearly 1,100 stores statewide, as well as approximately 100 manufacturers and distributors.  Our member companies employ over 125,000 union and non-union Minnesotans. We actively advance the common interest of all those engaged in any aspect of the retail food industry as a leader and advocate in government affairs.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.